60 days till the expiration of www.nairabytes.com URGENT nairabytes.com has expired and will be DELETED on Feb 16, 2010

1

January 8, 2010 by Administrator

Just as I finished writing my update8 on the above issue, I check my mail, low and behold, an email from Web4Africa. The title is: URGENT: nairabutes.com has expired and will be DELETED on Feb 16, 2010.

Email header

From Web4Africa Sales Department Fri Jan 8 04:17:13 2010
X-Apparently-To:   (I deleted my own email address) via 66.163.178.137; Thu, 07 Jan 2010 20:17:14 -0800
Return-Path:   <info@web4africa.net>
X-YahooFilteredBulk:   67.15.47.3
X-YMailISG:   frfq2TkWLDuOVODQGoXjDLhrbfBlzuwEXF8Hu42mXvSFefNNMo02si9zL_Wmg

IN.KYK5DlV1hfIA74oPjh4lnZVSvZ9f4E1mgBqsql.AlZtzK1zmScLg7mfsjnJxISJFNh

We_SA1LGFjiZSElwBQzCAyu6vuh9ErMNdLn1TzvFR2R.lT3IVVUS5eu.2ndlRR2JB6Vug6ez_83

os8QT8cui5zXSuUSYrew1EEZsesG5mGbmiG_TzyYM3LKpP_tPzbvWhcyy8nVQ3LpFFTi7

ICWJBNdT9WnnhP3nFRnHJrlWKIQNDcwlfOF7eXDFNHcZqSCtNq
X-Originating-IP:   [67.15.47.3]
Authentication-Results:   mta135.mail.re1.yahoo.com from=web4africa.net; domainkeys=neutral (no sig); from=web4africa.net; dkim=neutral (no sig)
Received:   from 67.15.47.3 (HELO mailer4.myorderbox.com) (67.15.47.3) by mta135.mail.re1.yahoo.com with SMTP; Thu, 07 Jan 2010 20:17:14 -0800
Received:   (qmail 1771 invoked by uid 0); 8 Jan 2010 04:17:13 -0000
Received:   from localhost (HELO rcron.myorderbox.com) (127.0.0.1) by localhost with SMTP; 8 Jan 2010 04:17:13 -0000
Date:   Fri, 8 Jan 2010 04:17:13 +0000 (GMT)
From:   Web4Africa Sales Department <info@web4africa.net>  Add sender to Contacts
To:   (I deleted my email address)
Message-ID:   <858398302.36961262924233692.JavaMail.obresin@rcron.myorderbox.com>
Subject:   URGENT: nairabytes.com has expired and will be DELETED on Feb 16, 2010
MIME-Version:   1.0
Content-Type:   text/html; charset=iso-8859-1
Content-Transfer-Encoding:   7bit
Content-Length:   2046

Email content

Your domain nairabytes.com has expired on Jan 7, 2010. This domain will be DELETED from your account on Feb 16, 2010. Once this domain name has been deleted from your account, you will NOT be able to renew/redeem your domain name.

Follow the instructions in this mail to Renew it right away in order to prevent the deletion.

Order Details
Order ID: 27188080
Domain Name: nairabytes.com
Cost Price: USD 10.0

Renewal Process
Follow the steps below to Renew nairabytes.com

1. Click on the link below

http://domain.web4africa.net/linkhandler/servlet/ViewOrderServlet?orderid=27188080&role=customer

2. Login with your username and password

3. Click on the Renew button and select the number of years you wish to Renew this domain name for. You will be charged USD 10.0 per year for renewing this domain name. If you are conducting serious business from nairabytes.com, it is suggested to renew it directly for 5 years or greater in order to avoid any deactivation at any point in time.

4. Follow the steps for Payment of this Renewal

Support
For any support with respect to your relationship with us you can always contact us directly using the following Information.

Technical Support:
Tech Support URL:
http://www.web4africa.net/clients/

Sales Contact:
Email Address:
info@web4africa.net
Tel:             +233.21921912

Billing Contact:
Email Address:
info@web4africa.net
Tel:             +233.21921912

Regards,

Web4Africa
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Telephone:             +233 21 921912
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Please, take note:

3. Click on the Renew button and select the number of years you wish to Renew this domain name for. You will be charged USD 10.0 per year for renewing this domain name. If you are conducting serious business from nairabytes.com, it is suggested to renew it directly for 5 years or greater in order to avoid any deactivation at any point in time.

Dear Mr. David / Dear Web4Africa: I paid for 1–year, I didn’t get the service for 1–year, how on earth do you want me to pay for 5–years? With all of the above looking extremely funny, I really dont know if I should laugh.

I understand its an autogenerated email, but I am of the opinion that if Mr. David is a serious minded person, if he takes his buisness and customers seriously, they should at least have remembered not to send a domain renewal notice to a customer who has been complaining about a technical issue for a whole year. My ticket with them is still open, and as far as I’m concerned, I haven’t started using my initial subscription.

If I were Mr. David: I’m thinking: why not fix the issue, and send the customer a “sweet, juicy and sugarized” email saying something like:

“Dear Esteemed Customer, we are very sorry for the inconveniences you have experienced within the past 1–year. We have finally resolved the issue you complained about, and we promise to do our best that such would not repeat itself again. After due consideration, we would like to offer you a 6–month compensation blah blah blah blah blah blah…..

We appreciate your continued patronage.

Since January 2009, I haven’t been able to get my domain up and running because of technical issues at Web4Africa. I have since demanded for a refund and 1–whole year has expired. No service, no refund and yet, I’m expected to renew my subscription? Is this all there is to the word: entrepreneurship?

Wahala dey o.

What does Web4Africa want me to do now? go and renew my domain name? So lets assume I go ahead and make payment, they will sure credit their accounts, renew my domain+hosting, etc, etc, however they will have forgotten that a ticket is still open; and then we start another 1–year of merry go round zero customer service, zero tech support all over again?

And with all my complaints on this weblog(Oluniyi David Ajao is aware of these complaints), I really dont know what else to say: is everybody in Web4Africa really sick in the head or what exactly is their problem? I hope they haven’t started 2010 on the wrong foot.

Honestly, Web4Africa has given me another definition of Advance Fee Fraud: continue paying for a service which you won’t get.

One thought on “60 days till the expiration of www.nairabytes.com URGENT nairabytes.com has expired and will be DELETED on Feb 16, 2010

  1. O boy, don’t let me say “please dont let Web4Africa get you all emotional”. Ok fine, David sends you a bill for renewal for a service “he did not provide” – according to you? its not new my guy. We pay NEPA bill but dont get light…thats on a lighter mood.

    You gotta be careful man. On a more serious mood, why not try contact the real hosting companies directly, rather than going through peeps who will chop your dollar. U know…

Leave a Reply

